From the Blog

Seven MIT faculty members had been on the list of more than 300 recipients of this 2019 Presidential Early job Awards for Scientists and Engineers (PECASE), the best honor bestowed because of the U.S. federal government to science and manufacturing professionals during the early stages of their independent study jobs.
Those from MIT who were recognized were:

  • Joseph Checkelsky, associate teacher within the division of Physics;
  • Kwanghun Chung, associate teacher in the divisions of Brain and Cognitive Sciences and Chemical Engineering
  • James M. LeBeau, the John Chipman connect Professor of components Science and Engineering;
  • Yen-Jie Lee, the course of 1958 Career developing connect Professor when you look at the Department of Physics;
  • Benedetto Marelli, the Paul M. Cook job developing Assistant Professor into the Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering;
  • Tracy Slatyer, the Jerrold R. Zacharias Career Development Associate Professor of Physics; and
  • Yogesh Surendranath, the Paul M. Cook profession Development Assistant Professor when you look at the Department of Chemistry. 

every one of the 2019 MIT recipients were used or funded because of the following U.S. departments and agencies: Department of Defense, division of Energy, together with division of health insurance and Human solutions.
These departments and agencies yearly nominate many meritorious experts and engineers whose early successes show exemplary vow for management in technology and manufacturing and contributing to the awarding agencies’ missions.
Set up by President Bill Clinton in 1996, the PECASE awards are coordinated because of the workplace of Science and Technology Policy within the Executive workplace associated with the President. Awardees tend to be chosen for their pursuit of revolutionary study during the frontiers of science and technology and their dedication to neighborhood solution as demonstrated through scientific leadership, community education, or community outreach.